Nieman names 1st Sandra Burton-Nieman Fellow

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University has announced the names of the members of the 2012 class of Nieman Fellows. The list includes Philippine Daily Inquirer senior editor and columnist John Nery, who is the first recipient of the Sandra Burton-Nieman Fellowship for Filipino Journalists.

The Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) supervised the selection process for the Fellowship in coordination with the Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation (NCAF) and the Nieman Foundation. NCAF sponsors the Sandra Burton Scholarship Fund for Filipino Journalists.

Sandra Burton was the Hong Kong bureau chief of TIME magazine who accompanied then opposition leader former Senator Benigno Aquino Jr. on his flight home to Manila on August 21, 1983. The senator was killed on the tarmac upon his arrival.

Read more at Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility


Con Yap