Holidays and Long Weekends in 2012

President Aquino exchanges pleasantries with State of Qatar Ambassador to the Philippines Abdulla Ahmed Yousif Al-mutawaa during the latter's farewell call at the Music Room, Malacañan Palace. Also in the photo are Secretary of Foreign Affairs Albert del Rosario and Secretary of Trade and Industry Gregory Domingo. Photo credit: Malacañang Photo Bureau
The Palace issued Proclamation 295, declaring holidays, special holidays and special non-working holidays for the year 2012:

January 1 (Sunday) – New Year’s Day
January 23 (Monday) – Chinese New Year
February 25 (Saturday) – EDSA Revolution Anniversary
April 5 (Thursday) – Maundy Thursday
April 6 (Friday) – Good Friday
April 9 (Monday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
May 1 (Tuesday) – Labor Day
June 12 (Tuesday) – Independence Day
August 21 (Tuesday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
August 27 (Monday) – National Heroes Day
November 1 (Thursday) – All Saints Day
November 2 (Friday) – Additional special (non-working) day
November 30 (Friday) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Tuesday) – Christmas Day
December 30 (Sunday) – Rizal Day
December 31 (Monday) – Last Day of the Year

According to the Palace, “national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient”

Cocoy Dayao

Cocoy is the Chief Technology Officer of Lab Rats Technica, a Digital Consulting company that specialises in DevOps, iOS, and Web Apps, E-Commerce sites, Cybersecurity and Social Media consulting. He is a technology enthusiast, political junkie and social observer who enjoys a good cup of coffee, comic books, and tweets as @cocoy on twitter.

Cocoy is also the Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of the ProPinoy Project.

Cocoy considers himself to be Liberal.