Monday 13 June is a working day, 20 June is a holiday

@govph clarified that Monday, 13 June 2011 is a working day.   In previous regimes, the government practiced holiday economics.  Should the holiday fall on a Sunday, then the following Monday will be a holiday.  The administration of President Aquino has done away with holiday economics.  Independence Day is celebrated on June 12.  The 13th of June is a regular working day.

The full list of holidays is posted on the Official Gazette.

The government also clarified that 20 June is a holiday.  This is in commemoration of Jose Rizal’s 150th Birthday.

Mark your calendar: Palace sets date for all holidays in 2011 (updated)

Salagdoong Beach Siquijor, Philippines

Sync your iCal and mark your Google calendars (or that Starbucks planner you just redeemed), the President has proclaimed all the holidays in 2011:

A. Regular Holidays

New Year’s Day – January 1 (Saturday)

Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Saturday)

Maundy Thursday – April 21

Good Friday – April 22

Labor Day – May 1 (Sunday)

Independence Day – June 12 (Sunday)

National Heroes Day – August 29 (Last Monday of August)

Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Wednesday)

Christmas Day – December 25 (Sunday)

Rizal Day – December 30 (Friday)

B. Special (Non-Working) Days

Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Sunday)

All Saints Day – November 1 (Tuesday)

Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Saturday)

C. Special Holiday (for all schools)

EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Friday)

Update: for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha, it will be announced in accordance with Islamic calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations and that the Palace will await confirmation from the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) before making the announcement.

Now that everyone is on the same page, nice of the Palace to be pro-active for the next year.

Photo credit: Storm Crypt

The December 2010 Philippine holidays

The official holiday season starts on December 24 and, excluding a pocket of 3 working days (see bold type), ends on Monday, January 3, 2011.

Friday, December 24 – Additional Special (Non-Working) Day*

Saturday, December 25 – Christmas day; Regular Holiday, NWD*

Sunday, December 26 – NWD

Monday, December 27 – Monday nearest Rizal Day, December 30; Regular Holiday ; NWD*

Tuesday, December 28 – WD

Wednesday, December 29 – WD

Thursday, December 30 – WD

Friday, December 31 –  Last Day of the Year; Special NWD*

Saturday, January 1 – NWD

Sunday, January 2 – NWD

Monday, January 3 – WD

* This is in accordance to Proclamation No. 1841 s. 2009, which has been retained as relevant for December this year after deliberation by the Office of the President.

Advisory prepared December 12, 2010